To party or not to party?

Standard

That is the question i’m mulling over right now.

On one hand there is a ridiculous party happening tonight sure to be in no short supply of alcohol and drunken college students. Some of my friends are going and I have a ride there and back. So there’s that

On the other hand I’m still sick and I just started my medication today. I don’t think antibiotics and alcohol are the best combination… hmmmm decisions decisions

I’m pretty socially retarded too, parties aren’t really my thing, but it could be fun?

Or horrible…

On another note, I finally (sort of) understand the point of studying english. I always used to get so pissed off at my english teacher (who I now realize is probably the coolest teacher I’ve ever had) because he always would dish out some bullshit speech about symbolism and hidden meaning in stories. The tree represents his repressed anguish and the loneliness he feels at the loss of blah blah blah blah blah. No Mr DeCleene, the author probably meant the tree to be a tree.

But I get it now.

Regardless of whether the author meant the tree to be a tree his subconscious caused him to write about the tree so that he unknowingly put symbolism into it because of some bullshit freudian theory that states that the author subconsciously dictates the inner most workings of his mind into his writing.

So not only does the author not know what the tree represents, neither do I. Yet somehow it is my job to figure it out. This is what I’ve had to deal with this week while we break down different critical approaches to literature. It’s actually pretty fascinating once you get past the fact that these people are probably over thinking things way more than the author intended, but maybe thats a pretentious assumption, what do I know, I’m just some smart ass freshmen who can’t even identify themes of post modernism in the 20th century (scoff). No really, that was on a quiz last week, I stared at the question for like 10 minutes before deciding that I don’t really give two shits about post modernism and I’m dropping out of school after this semester anyway.

And on the other other hand, I mapped out my plan to train for this half marathon thing that’s going down in October.

I’m going to start off with a couch to 5k program, which basically involves me running for 30 minutes three times a week at walk/run intervals, and by week 8 I should be running 3 miles.
So that will be my MWF, and in between I’m going to do 30 minutes of cross training, so low impact aerobic exercises like swimming, yoga, hiking, or the elliptical.

Saturdays are rest days and Sundays I’ll do a nice easy run for distance.

The only thing I need to figure out is how I’m going to incorporate weight training and calisthenics twice a week, probably on MWF after my run, for 15-30 minutes. I want to be able to complement my training by building and strengthening, but I don’t want to over do it, or under do it, so that’s one area I’m slightly confused about as far as exercises, frequency, reps/sets, etc.

And for nutrition I’ll probably just keep doing my oatmeal in the morning, a pre workout snack an hour before, like a smoothie or avocado on toast, and a post workout snack/lunch like a tuna sandwich with dinner being veggies and protein.

So that’s my plan, I want to start on Monday, but if I’m still sick I might take a few more days so I can recover.

And on a final note, I hate taking pharmaceuticals. When I eat really well and have access to all the weird hippie food I like (aka not what I get here) I will not get sick. It just doesn’t happen. Going to the doctor and having him prescribe me a bunch of pills just felt like taking the easy way out. I hate that feeling. We need to be fixing the root of the problem, not just finding short term solutions. You can read more about that here.

But I just couldn’t get better on my own, and that makes me feel like a failure.

Leave a Reply

